The Garden of Life


needlework by Barbara Mattio

Needlework by Barbara Mattio

 

I was just out in my garden. It is very warm and I was doing some deadheading, turning pots to the sun. I filled my lungs with the fragrance of the flowers and my eyes with their beautiful color. I could feel the energy emanating from the trees and was filled with contentment. The gardens of our lives are like this. They need attention and some work. We need to keep our lives fertilized and trimmed. We need to stop in the presence of the Divine and communicate as a child of the Universe. Negativity needs to be removed from our lives and we need to remember that thoughts have energy and try very hard not to add to the hatred and violence in the world. We need to laugh and enjoy the relationship we have with the Divine. So visit your garden or park and spend some time with God.

Trees

I think that I shall never see a poem lovely as a tree.
A tree whose hungry mouth is prest against the
earth’s sweet flowing breast;
A tree that looks at God all day,
and lifts her leafy areas to pray;
A tree that may in Summer wear a nest
of robins in her hair;
Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
who lives with rain.
Poems are made by fools like me,
but only God can make a tree.
—Joyce Kilmer

 

Photography by Barbara Mattio

Photography by Barbara Mattio

26 thoughts on “The Garden of Life

  1. Karen Wan says:

    My mom introduced me to the famous Joyce Kilmer poem when I was a little child, though she usually stopped at the first line. Thanks for sharing it as well as the rest of your message today. Nature is such a strong healing force.

  2. David says:

    lovely…so lovely..and I felt your words so deeply…

  3. I have always loved that poem. Nice to read it today. Your needlework is pretty.

  4. there are no poems as lovely as tree’s…nowhere near that unspeakable loveliness

  5. cooktocure says:

    My soul has echoed the words you wrote for so very long. I think we do need to ‘prune, water and fertilize’ every relationship, whether with people or with ourselves or with the One, There is a reason it’s called the Garden of Life. Cheers!

  6. Lover of Gardens – Beautiful Post:) Have a Lovely Weekend!

  7. Beautiful post. and you’re needlework is beautiful. well done!

  8. becca givens says:

    That is a lot of beautiful stitching, Barbara … makes me want to take out my basket of projects!! :-) It’s been several years since I’ve stitched.

    • I have one now upstairs in my basket. It has been there for a year. I pick it up and work on it and set it down. Over and over. There are just so many wonderful things in my life that keep me busy. Today it is blogging and painting. Tomorrow is a grandson. I am so grateful.

  9. I love that poem, and agree about gardens!

    Thanks for visiting me!

  10. inanna40 says:

    Thank you for reminding me how much I love this poem. It gave me chills. I feel the same way visiting my garden. Beautiful post.

  11. engchick23 says:

    I know what you mean. Every time I’m in our vegetable garden, I feel grateful for the opportunity to be a part of nature and through it connect with God and my world for a little while. I love digging around in the dirt, taking in the intense, living green colors, and breathing in the fragrance of living things connected with the earth. The garden is one of my sanctuaries when I’m restless, upset, or have a lot on my mind. I will miss it so much when I move! Maybe someone with a real garden will let me weed it…I just need to be near the plants!

    Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and the poem! :)

    P.S. Thanks for stopping by!

  12. What Beautiful needlework!
    and of course I like the post ..
    handwork just always grabs my attention…one of my passion
    when my healing garden is finished , I shall sit and watch the world unfurl and do a stitch at a time….
    Thanks Barbra…beautiful
    Take Care,….
    )0(
    ladyblue

  13. Ametia says:

    Well what do you know! It’s my first time here, and what do I read about?

    TREES. You know I’m an old DRUID, don’t you? Nothing gave me more comfort and healing than trees, as a child and even today.

    Thank you, Barbara.

Leave a Reply

