Mellow Yellow Monday for Art and Artists


Vincent Van Gogh was one of the Impressionist artists. The book My Life and Love are One contains excerpts from his letters to his brother Theo. He and Theo were very close and Theo sold as many of Vincent’s paintings as possible. Van Gogh’s art was expressive and his writings were equally expressive. Whether he wrote about art, turmoil or love you can feel his inner passion. Sunflowers were one of his favorite things to paint. He was brilliant and suffered from depression. His art does give a voice to his suffering.

One day, the story goes, Vincent took his easel and paints to a meadow and began a painting and also committed suicide. Recently there has been controversy over the possibility that he may have been murdered. Whatever happened to Van Gogh, he left us with some very brilliant art and writings.

“Since the beginning of this love I have felt that unless I gave myself up to it entirely, without any restriction, with all my heart, there was no chance for me whatever, and even so my chance is slight. But what is it to me whether my chance is slight or great? I mean, must I consider this when I love? No, no reckoning; one loves because one loves. Then we keep our heads clear, and do not cloud our minds, nor do we hide our feelings, nor smother the fire and light, but simply say: Thank God, I love.

17 thoughts on “Mellow Yellow Monday for Art and Artists

  1. Sandra C. says:

    really inspiring and souds so true at this right moment to my heartt ! love is a powerfull energy ! loke the yellow the sunflower my favorite flower by the way !!!!! i ‘ll send you yellow energy …let’s growing it oversees !!!!

  2. He’s actually my favorite impressionist and I never knew about his writings. That was a moving quote. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I’ve just purchased a copy of Lust for Live by Irving Stone. I read it as a teenager and want to read it again. I loved visiting the Van Gogh museum in Holland. He’s always been one of my favourite artists and human beings.

  4. Jordon Lubin says:

    Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa? My site discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other. If you are interested feel free to shoot me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!|

  5. After exploring a number of the blog articles on your
    blog, I honestly appreciate your way of writing a blog.

    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark site list
    and will be checking back in the near future. Please visit my website as well and let
    me know your opinion.

  6. Wow, incredible weblog structure! How lengthy have you been
    blogging for? you made running a blog glance easy. The total look of your website is
    great, let alone the content material!

  7. coffee beans says:

    you have a great blog here! would you like to make some invite posts on my blog?

  8. Would you be interested in exchanging links?

  9. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established
    blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m
    thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Cheers

Leave a Reply

