My Personal Heroine, May Sarton


ritual of selfblessing

May Sarton is a woman who lived in New England. She was a writer, journalist, and poet. She has written many great novels which I have always found to be a delight to read.Her poetry sings from the heart. Her journals take you to a place when you need to think about new perceptions and to think about talking to other women. You can get her books at your local library.

Now I Become Myself  

May Sarton

Now I become myself. It’s taken

Time, many years and places;

I have dissolved and shaken,

Worn other people’s faces,

Run madly, as if Time were there,

Terrible old, crying a warning,

“Hurry, you will be dead before—-”

( What? Before you  reach the morning?

Or the end of the poem is clear?

Or love safe in the walled city?)

Now to stand still, to be here,

Feel my own weight and destiny!

The black shadow on the paper

Is my hand, the shadow of a word

As thought shapes the shaper

Falls heavy on the page, is heard

All fuses now, falls into place

From wish to action, ,word to silence,

My work, my love, my love, my time, my face

Gathered into one intense

Gesture of growing like a plant.

As slowly as the ripening fruit

Fertile, detached, and always spent,

Falls but does not exhaust the root,

So all the poem is, can give,

Grows in me to become the song,

Made so and rooted so by love

New there is time and Time is young.

O, in this single hour I live

All of myself and do not move.

I, the pursued, who madly ran,

Stand still, stand still, and stop the sun.”

to be beautifulto beyourself

32 thoughts on “My Personal Heroine, May Sarton

  1. She had an amazing way with words and wove layers of meaning into her poetry.

  2. Jas Baku says:

    WoW that’s amazing. It resonates.

  3. mountainmae says:

    How could I not know her? This poem is beautiful and seems so appropriate for today.

  4. tersiaburger says:

    Absolutely beautiful!

  5. poojycat says:

    Such a lovely post! I am now inspired to look into her work :) thank you

  6. hi, i just discovered your blog on google and i must say this blog is great. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

  7. what a fabulous post this has been. never seen this kind of useful post. i am grateful to you and expect more number of posts like these. thank you very much. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

  8. it was an immeasurable pleasure to read your posts. i will definitely be coming back here. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

  9. Winnipeg PC says:

    Really Sweet Web Site You Have Here! Very Interesting Subject For A Blog Keep Up The Really Good Projects!. Check Out Winnipeg Computer Repair Masters Blog And Tell Me What You Think!!!!!

  10. Coda Cruise says:

    When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

  11. mui store says:

    Thank you for another vital post. Exactly where else could everyone get that type of details in these a total way of writing? I have a presentation incoming week, and I’m around the lookout for such information.

  12. horse racing says:

    WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. …

  13. There are some interesting points in time in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

  14. finland says:

    Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

  15. When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

  16. Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you However I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

  17. Travel says:

    Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

  18. This is the right blog for anyone who wants to find out about this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!

  19. There is noticeably a bundle to know about this. I assume you made certain nice points in features also.

  20. Google says:

    Google

    We came across a cool site that you just may well delight in. Take a search in the event you want.

Leave a Reply

