Mother Teresa


Mother Theresa in the early years of her ministry

Mother Theresa in the early years of her ministry

Mother Teresa was a Catholic nun who saw the poverty and suffering around her and she was filled with compassion and kindness. She and her order of nuns began to assist the people everyone wanted to forget. She began in Calcutta, India and worked selflessly with “the poorest of the poor.” Her order began in 1950 and  are called the Missionaries of Charity. There are now more than 500 centers around the world to help the sick, the dying and the destitute. This woman  was a heroine and is considered a saint in the Catholic religion. I am told she was working her way to sainthood. This is all great, but what has amazed and inspired me is Mother Teresa’s compassion, caring, kindness, generosity and authenticity. She walked her talk.

Mother Teresa admonished people to listen to the silence, because if your heart is full of other things you can’t hear God. I believe that all religions and spiritual paths would agree with this. Whether you pray, meditate or chant when you go inside you are in the presence of the One. Being in the presence of the Divine is to experience real love and compassion. The contemplatives and ascetics of all ages and spiritual paths have sought God in the silence and solitude of nature. Many live in caves, forests or on mountaintops. Mother Teresa also would withdraw at times to recharge herself for her work among the least of God’s children.

” Silence of our eyes,

Silence of our ears.

Silence of our mouths.

Silence of our minds.

in the silence of the heart

God will speak”    —Mother Teresa

“Love each other as God loves each one of you, with an

intense and particular love.

Be kind to each other: It is better to commit faults with gentleness

than to work miracles with unkindness.”  —Mother Teresa

BJWordPressDivider

This is a story Mother Teresa often told. I am quoting her words. “One day I picked up a man from the gutter. His body was covered with worms. I brought him to our house, and what did that man say? He did not curse. He did not blame anyone. He just said, “I’ve lived like an animal in the street, but I’m going to die like an angel, loved and cared for! It took us three hours to clean him. Finally, the man looked up at the sister and said, “Sister, I’m going home to God.” And then he died. I’ve never seen such a radiant smile on a human face. He went home to God. See what love can do!” I wonder how many of us have ever shone kindness to a homeless person, let alone one covered with worms.

BJWordPressDivider

Mother Teresa daily gave care to lepers, the dying and the hungry. She also never worried about catching a disease or if she had eaten. I have always made it a practice to give money to the homeless. I am not rich, but I try to divide what I have. One day in Memphis, I was with friends and I saw an obviously homeless and destitute woman sitting on a bench in downtown Memphis. As our group was walking by and talking, I noticed her and took money from my wallet and gave it to her. My behavior horrified the people I was with. One dropped back and asked me why I did that. I told him that I make it a practice to practice random acts of kindness. He expressed surprise and a young woman scoffed at me and said the woman probably owned the building. I responded that that would be fine because she would pass the money on to someone who really needed it. Yes, I know I am an optimist.

Another story that Mother Teresa told was as follows: “Some time ago I made a trip to Ethiopia. Our sisters were working there during that terrible drought. Just as I was about to leave for Ethiopia, I found myself surrounded by many children. Each one of them gave something. “Take this to the children!” they would say. They had many gifts that they wanted to give to our poor. Then a small child, who for the first time had a piece of chocolate, came up to me and said, ” I do not want to eat it. You take it and give it to the children.” This little one gave a great deal, because he gave it all, and he gave something that was very precious to him.”

” Our mission is to convey God’s love—not a dead God, but a living God, a God of love.”  —Mother Tesesa

“Poverty doesn’t only consist of being hungry for bread, but rather it is a tremendous hunger for human dignity. This is where we make our mistake and shove people aside. Not only have we denied the poor a piece of bread, but by thinking that they have no worth and leaving them abandoned in the streets, we have denied them the human dignity that is rightfully theirs as children of God.”  —Mother Teresa

All over the world, we are shoving people aside and taking away their dignity. Here in America, we have replaced compassion, kindness, generosity and love with hatred, bigotry and violence. This is why our societies are breaking down. So, I recommend random acts of kindness. I recommend writing to your Congresspeople. Find the love and compassion for others we have lost and use it to make a better society. Remembering that we are One Family living on One World and love is what binds us together.

Mother Teresa before her death.

Mother Teresa before her death.

BJWordPressDivider

25 thoughts on “Mother Teresa

  1. Jueseppi B. says:

    A beautiful human being, and this is a beautiful tribute. Thank U Ms. Barbara

  2. Dr. Rex says:

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    A great human spirit … never forgotten. An example to emulate!!

  3. oldpoet56 says:

    Shortly after this wonderful lady died I heard a comment from President Bill Clinton that to me showed me the man he is. There was an event where he, Mother Teresa, and Princess Diana were at, a very large event it would appear. Bill and Hillary were of course hanging out with Princess Diana and never went over to meet Mother Teresa. After Mother Teresa died his statement was “I believe I had a chance to meet her once or twice”. He could have easily met her several times if he had wanted to, she just didn’t have the glamour and glitz that he and Hillary always tried to interject themselves into.

  4. inavukic says:

    Thumbs up to such great humanity and divine presence. Enjoyed this Barbara, loved Mother Teresa and still think of her often :D

  5. Dr. Rex says:

    “It Is What It Is” received this. I’m paying it forward! Please, accept. TY …
    http://hrexach.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/the-cracking-chrispmouse-bloggywod-award-to-it-is-what-it-is/

  6. I don’t know if this story is true or not but it was recounted to me as genuine. Apparently, after Pope John Paul ll visited Scotland in the eighties he gave Mother Teresa one of the Pope-mobiles for getting around in to do her work. She sold it. Needed the money to help the poor. Speaks volumes for the woman she was and the spirit she possessed. A lovely post. x

  7. Dr. Rex says:

    On another note ….. A new award has been created. Please, accept it. :-)
    http://hrexach.wordpress.com/2014/01/16/field-of-flowers-award-for-it-is-what-it-is-3/

  8. Kev says:

    The world needs more Mother Teresas

Leave a Reply

