The Wounded Warrior Project


 

 

For a pacifist, dealing with the concept of soldiers is difficult. When I was young  and protesting the Vietnam War, I learned that though I object to war it is not the fault of the soldiers. We abandoned the Vietnam soldiers when they came home. We didn’t get what they had gone through and that they were doing the best they could in the circumstances. When Bush Sr. began the Gulf War, I sat on the floor in front of the TV crying. I was crying for all of the innocent people who would be victims of this war. I cried about all sons and daughters who would give their lives. All the parents who would be devastated.

 

Now, I see our children coming home and I see the damage that has been done to them. I can’t think about the purpose of these wars. I now know that we have to take care of the injured. The innocent citizens and our children. Today, the Wounded Warrior Project is a wonderful way for us to help the young people who are coming home damaged in body and mind. I don’t think about what happened but what they are dealing with now back at home.

 

One of my dearest friends’ sons did two tours in Iraq. I was freaked of course. He was shot and the Army called and told his parents, but also mentioned they didn’t know where he was.  I am sure every parent would understand  their emotions at this news. I contacted a university professor I am good friends with and she contacted a Colonel she knew. He explained that they probably knew but weren’t saying. In reality, he spent days at the Iraqi airport. He was then sent to Germany for surgery. He is home now and is doing well, but will not talk about what happened to him.

 

So keep an open mind and heart towards all the young people as they come home. We sent them away after teaching them how to kill. Now we are asking these young men and women to come home and pick up their lives as workers, husbands, wives, parents as if nothing had happened to them in the middle years. Our young people are damaged and they need to know they are appreciated, They need to know that we are here for them. And that America is willing to help them heal and that their healing is important to us. You can help with the Wounded Warrior Project if you want to. You can help someone’s son or daughter heal physically and mentally.

 

 

guarda5

4 thoughts on “The Wounded Warrior Project

  1. Dr. Rex says:

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    Excellent post! I need to share!!

Leave a Reply

